Beak> were formed in January 2009 by Bristol musicians Billy Fuller, Matt Williams, and Geoff Barrow. The band instituted very strict guidelines governing the recording and writing process of their work: The music was to be recorded live in one room with no overdubs or repair, only using edits to create arrangements. That process – along with their lineup, which now includes Will Young, replacing Williams – has evolved over the years, but the spirit and sound of Beak> is stronger than ever.