Pyramid of the Sun - Temporary Residence Ltd


Pyramid of the Sun


Recorded throughout 2009 and 2010, Pyramid of the Sun is the most dynamic, melodic and tuneful Maserati album of the band's decade-long career. Retaining the trademark driving momentum that makes the band's live shows so euphoric, Pyramid explores the lighter and darker sides of their sound, anchored by more melodic and varied song structures and exhilarating production. In other words, you'll not only bob your head and tap your feet, you'll also involuntarily find the tunes lodged in your brain. Mixed with Justin Van Der Volgen (!!!, Out Hud, TBD) and Temporary Residence founder Jeremy deVine (Sonna), Pyramid includes two collaborations with friend and tourmate Steve Moore (Zombi) in the form of the Cluster-meets-Jan Hammer scorcher, "They'll No More Suffer From Thirst," and the synth-heavy dance epic, "Oaxaca". Closing the album is the transcendent "Bye M'Friend, Goodbye," a motorik summer punk jam that splits the difference between Wipers and Neu!; it also carries the bittersweet distinction of being one of the band's finest songs, and the final track written and recorded with their legendary drummer Jerry Fuchs, who tragically passed away during the making of this album. Pyramid of the Sun assures Maserati their rightful place in the pantheon of rock bands who have not just painted outside the lines, but painted them over completely with a vibrant array of colors that glow in the darkness of long overnight drives and early morning after-afterparties.


1. Who Can Find the Beast?
2. Pyramid Of The Sun
3. We Got The System To Fight The System
4. They'll No More Suffer From Thirst
5. Ruins
6. They'll No More Suffer From Hunger
7. Oaxaca
8. Bye M'Friend, Goodbye

Share this Product