Freedom From Expression - Temporary Residence Ltd

The Books

Freedom From Expression


The Books were one of modern music's most vital players of this still-young millennium. Over the course of four albums in ten years' time, they eschewed genres and pigeonholes so effortlessly and earnestly that they ultimately pioneered a new genre (or three) in the process. And for all the speechlessness their recordings inspired, their videos were every bit as beguiling: a surreal mix of bizarre found footage, home movies, and psychedelic animated imagery that fit their music so well that the two became virtually inseparable in their live performances. Freedom From Expression collects every video ever made by the Books, compiled in chronological order. It's enormously satisfying and fulfilling to map the progression from humble bedroom curiosities through to hilariously warped experimental art films masquerading as music videos. At over two hours in length across 21 videos, it is an invaluable piece of the Books' universe, one that demands constant replays, and delivers as many emotional and cerebral twists and turns as anything else in their absurdly unique and forward-thinking catalog.


1. That Right Ain't Shit
2. Be Good To Them Always
3. Smells Like Content
4. Take Time
5. Meditation
6. It Never Changes To Stop
7. Tokyo
8. All A's
9. If Now, Whenever
10. Classy Penguin
11. 8 Frame
12. An Owl With Knees
13. Twelve Fold Chain
14. Cello Song Feat. Jose Gonzales
15. Handfart Man
16. Group Autogenics I
17. I Didn't Know That
18. A Cold Freezin' Night
19. Chain of Missing Links
20. We Bought The Flood
21. Mommy Daddy

Share this Product